Tags

, , , , ,

This is my go-to dish any time I have to house to myself. My husband hates mushrooms. I hate cold weather. That’s why this is the perfect dinner to make, for myself, while he and the kids are out skiing. I absolutely love mushrooms. I’ll eat them any way I can get them; sauteed, stuffed, grilled, or raw. I especially love the earthy, woodsy flavor of the baby bella (or cremini) mushrooms used here. My husband would gag if I served this to him. But don’t get me wrong, he’s still a fun guy (get it?).

Simple, fresh ingredients are central to this recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb bowtie pasta
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 8-ounce package sliced baby bella mushrooms
  • 1/4 tsp. kosher salt
  • 1/8 tsp. white pepper
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 1 chicken boullion cube dissolved in 1/2 cup hot water
  • dash crushed red pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 1/8 cup cold water
  • 1 tablespoon chopped Italian parsley (this is optional, it just makes the final dish prettier)
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese (at least)

Put a pot of water on to boil. You’ll want to time this so you can cook the pasta while preparing the mushroom sauce. Heat olive oil in a large saute pan over medium heat. Add the garlic and cook for 1 minute. Next, add mushrooms, salt, and pepper to the garlic and cook for about 3 more minutes. Add the wine and increase heat to medium high. Let the wine reduce.

Winey, mushroomy goodness

Once the wine has reduced, add the prepared broth and let it all cook at a low simmer for about 10 minutes. Also, your pasta should be cooking during this time. Drain the bowties once they are al dente. Mix the cornstarch into the cold water* and add to the mushrooms along with the parsley and red pepper flakes. Stir together for about a minute and remove from the heat.

Toss the cooked pasta together with the mushroom sauce, top with Parmesan and enjoy! Serves two (or one lonely, mushroom-lovin’ gal with leftovers).

*Sometimes I skip the cornstarch. The result is equally good without it, but you’ll want to use it if you prefer a thicker sauce.

